Freee by Doves Farm Gluten Free Xanthan Gum 100g

2 Reviews / Write a review

For stronger crumb structure and reduced crumbling in gluten free baking. 

This 100g pack can be used in a variety of gluten free baking recipes.

This product is Coeliac UK, Vegan and Kosher certified.

GLUTEN FREE Xanthan Gum

Ingredients: xanthan gum.

Allergy advice: free from gluten, milk, peanut, egg and soya.

Ingredients from more than one county. Packed in the UK.

Storage: replace lid and store in a cool dry place.

Packaging material: PP tube and lid, paper label.

Please can you sell some of the old unbleached xanthan gum? That stuff was great, and I'd really like to be able to buy it again. The previous type of Xanthan gum was a yellow colour with an odour similar to vinegar. I loved it, and it worked really well in my bread recipe. Around April 2017, I first tried out the new type of Doves Farm Xanthan gum, the label had changed and I noticed the xanthan gum was switched from the previous type, it was now a pure white powder with hardly any smell. This type is not as effective, and I have to add 20% more, in order for the bread to reach the same consistency. I believe that's because the new pure white type, uses a bleaching process, which damages some of the xanthan gum and makes it less effective, then the old tan yellow coloured good stuff.

Dear David. We would like to confirm that our Xanthan Gum has never been bleached.  Our packaging has changed to our new FREEE by Doves farm brand, but we would like to reassure you that in fact the recipe and product are still the same.  The product has always been a white colour and to our knowledge, this has never had an odour. I hope this helps and best wishes, Doves Farm. 

 

By David Estabrook
31 Oct 2017
As a sufferer of cealic disease, I cook my own food. When I came across xanthan gum I thought of trying it in my baking. The label says it is gluten free, however, immediately afterwards I experienced severe stomach pain, migrane and diahorea. I began investigating and was shocked to learn that xanthan gum is derived from wheat and gluten. There is no mention of this in your labelling. Why not? I would appreciate it if could label your product correctly, for instance, may contain gluten and wheat, or derived from gluten or produced in a factory that handles wheat and gluten. Also review your ingredients on your packaging. The people sensitive to gluten may be a small minority, but we exist and we eat food and walk on this earth just like anyone else. For people without this sensitivity, would you eat an ingredient that left you sick and tied to the bathroom, almost as bad as having a stomach virus. The problem is that someone in the food additives industry is very good at selling this product as safe. It maybe sage for some people. However, you should make it clear in your packaging that it is derived from wheat and gluten If you suffer from gluten intolerance/cealic disease do not touch this product.

Hi Baljeet, Sorry to hear you have experienced digestive problems. The manufacture process of our xanthan gum involves mixing maize with the xanthan seed and then allowing the fermentation process to take place. Once fermentation is complete there is no maize remaining in the product. I can confirm that no wheat or gluten is used within the fermentation process, or on the site of manufacture of our xanthan gum. The production and packing of our xanthan gum is carried out in an area in which there is no gluten present. The finished product is also tested on a regular basis and there have been no instances of gluten contamination. It is recommended that people do not consume more than 15g / day of xanthan gum because it is an efficient laxative. For consumers with digestive problems this figure may be lower because it is a minor digestive system irritant. If you have any further questions, please send an email to mail@dovesfarm.co.uk

By Miss Baljeet Kalsi
03 Aug 2016

Write a review

£3.20 £3.20/100g

Share /  Print

Free from

  • Gluten
  • Milk
  • Peanuts
  • Egg
  • Soya
  • Wheat

Good to know

  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan
  • Kosher
Our Story

Going gluten free in the 70s...

Learn More